AIA NO I KA MEA E MELE ANA

Aia no I ka mea e mele ana - Let the singer select the song. This is an old Hawaiian proverb that resonates loudly in my daily relfections. Simple put, it means that we are in control of our own lives. Be open to advice, give it wisely, but let everyone decide the direction it leads them.

Over the last few months I have taken some critiscm over previous posts about how people go about living day to day. Although I stand firmly in my beliefs that we all should strive for a life of fufillment, I can concede that my argument; at least in appearance, has come out more one sided than I had anticipated.

I want to make it perfectly clear to anyone I may have offended that I am not judging anyones personal life choices. Whether you score goals on the ice, backpack through Asia, or work in an office, at the end of the day it’s your choice. Whether you live on an island, in a big city or a tight knit community; again it’s your choice. My main point is exactly that; it’s your choice. I want people to simply ask themselves why they’ve decided “this over that”. It’s easy to push forward without much thought, to pick a path and let it run its course. It’s easier to grind it out than to seriously ask yourself; “Could I be happier doing something else?”. It is very difficult is to be honest with yourself and give it all up to risk everything for something you truly believe in.  The payoff though, could be so much more than you ever imagined.

This goes both ways though. To travel without direction is just as dangerous as to work without purpose; it will always leave you unsatisfied. Whatever you decide to do in life, it has to be fueled by a passion, or else what’s the point? Contentment can come from many different things and inspiration can be found in the smile of a child or the uncertainty of the open road. Providing for your family and contributing to your community are just as inspiring as climbing a mountain or running a marathon. What we do with our lives is not as important as why we do it.

I was merely providing a voice for my side of the spectrum, which is sometimes unjustly misrepresented as irresponsible living. I believe that in some ways I have been sucessful in doing so. Where I failed was not propely giving the respect to everyone in all walks of life for doing what makes them happy.  We are all writing the lyrics to our own individual symphonies, I just want them all to be as enjoyable as possible. 

“Seven Blunders of the world”

1. Wealth without work

2. Pleasure without conscience

3. Knowledge without character

4. Commerce with morality

5. Science without humanity

6. Worship without sacrfice

7. Politics without principle

- Mahatma Ghandi

One response to “AIA NO I KA MEA E MELE ANA

  1. I’ve been reading all your stuff for the last few years and have quite enjoyed your perspectives on your journeys through your time in life so far.
    I do hope that you keep them all in some kind of “collection” so as to look and reflect later. It might be worth thinking about publishing your journeys and reflections/experiences.
    I notice a a good flair for language combined with a very good setting for a kind of “Diary” book that might sell as easily as others of that type.
    I’d help edit.
    Continued success with your goals.

Leave a Reply

