Stepping up to the Mic. (Poetry Reading!)

Wow, its been a rough two weeks. It hasn’t been easy conceding to the fact that when I finally decided on a finishing date, that I wasn’t able to get everything in. Injuring my shoulder amongst other personal hurdles stopped me dead in my tracks for a moment. In some ways it was fitting. The emotions that over took me last week were unexpected, but they confirmed that I had given it my all and could move forward confident in that. My date may be past and gone, but my drive to finish hasn’t changed. I will complete this.

This Friday I take the mic in my hands in Toronto, Ontario and face my fear of sharing some of my personal views with a live audience. It’s a scary thing for me, to express myself in front of people, but I know it has the potential to be extremely freeing.

I think facing the right kind of fears is crucial for self development. In the right scenarios fear is a “not so subtle reminder” that what’s starring us in the face is worth fighting to see through. A big recital, the ball in your hands with 1 second left, a love letter waiting to be written, or barring your soul in front of a crowd; its all relative.
That feeling in the pit of your stomach telling you that you can’t measure up to the moment is actually the clearest indicator that you’re about to step into something extraordinary. It’s our emotional attachment to the things that mean the most that make us fear them so much. Giving in to the moment and freeing yourself from the fear is what propels us into greatness.
I think I’ve been able to write something worth sharing, so its scary to put it out there. Who knows what people will think. One thing I do know for sure is; I can’t wait for that feeling of just letting go.

For anyone in the area, I’ll be on stage, Fri March 18th between 4-7pm @ James Joyce Irish Pub in Toronto. 386 Bloor Street West. (Downtown). I would love to see whoever can find the time!

Leave a Reply

